Contact: Lynn Yarris (510) 486-5375, [email protected]

Five Berkeley Lab scientists have been named to the 2009 class of “Fellow” by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). An honor bestowed by their peers, a AAAS Fellow is defined as a AAAS scientist “whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

AAAS awarded 531 of its member scientists the distinction of Fellow this year. The new AAAS Fellows from Berkeley Lab were:

  • Donald DePaolo, Earth Sciences Division, “For sustained contributions in the application of isotope geochemistry to fundamental problems in earth sciences.”
  • Juan Meza, Computational Research Division, “For exemplary service to the federal energy laboratories and professional societies in enhancing research and research participation.”
  • Jeffrey Allen Reimer, Environmental Energy Technologies Division, “For contributions to understanding materials chemistry through the application of sophisticated spectroscopic and physical measurements.”
  • Yuen-Ron Shen, Materials Sciences Divison, “For his pioneering use of lasers to investigate nonlinear interactions of light and matter.”
  • William Turner, Accelerator and Fusion Research Division, “For distinguished contributions to plasma physics, high energy physics, and accelerator physics as well as for outstanding scientific project management.”

All the new AAAS Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin on Saturday, February 20, 2010 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2010 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Diego.

Additional Information

For more information on the AAAS Fellows program visit the Website