News Center

President Obama Honors Extraordinary Early-Career Scientists

President Obama has named 106 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Included on the list this year is Michael Stadler of Berkeley Lab’s Energy Technologies Area (ETA).

Berkeley Lab's Michael Stadler.

Berkeley Lab’s Michael Stadler.

“These early-career scientists are leading the way in our efforts to confront and understand challenges from climate change to our health and wellness,” President Obama said. “We congratulate these accomplished individuals and encourage them to continue to serve as an example of the incredible promise and ingenuity of the American people.”

As the Group Leader for ETA’s Grid Integration Group, Stadler leads the design of the microgrid design tool, DER-CAM. Stadler was nominated by the Office of Electricity Delivery and Reliability at the U.S. Dept. of Energy. He studied at the Vienna University of Technology before coming to UC Berkeley and then to Berkeley Lab.

The recipients are employed or funded by various federal agencies, including the Department of Energy, which join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America’s preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies’ missions.

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.

The full White House Release is available here.