News Center

UC names Michael Witherell to head Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

The University of California Board of Regents today (Jan. 21) approved Michael Witherell, vice chancellor for research at UC Santa Barbara, as director of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Witherell is a leading physicist with a highly distinguished career in teaching, research and managing complex organizations.

In Memoriam: Judith (Judy) Goldhaber

Judith (Judy) Goldhaber, a science writer for 35 years at Berkeley Lab, a poet, playwright and the wife of renowned physicist Gerson Goldhaber, passed away on May 26. She was 81.

Berkeley Lab Researchers Receive DOE Early Career Research Awards

Two researchers at Berkeley Lab were on the list of 44 recipients announced today as recipients of the Early Career Research Program award managed by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science.

Berkeley Lab Director Announces Intention to Step Down

After six years as Lab Director, Paul Alivisatos announced he will leave his position once a successor can be recruited to lead the Lab. Alivisatos will return to his research and teaching activities as a senior scientist in the Materials Sciences Division and as a faculty member on the UC Berkeley campus.

President Obama Honors Outstanding Early-Career Scientists

President Obama named four Berkeley Lab-affiliated researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

Five Berkeley Lab Researchers are 2013 APS Fellows

This year’s recently announced American Physical Society (APS) Fellows includes five scientists from Berkeley Lab, two from the Materials Sciences Division and one each from the Accelerator and Fusion Research, Nuclear Science, and Engineering divisions. APS Fellows are elected by their peers for “exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.”

Three Berkeley Lab Scientists named AAAS 2013 Fellows

Three Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (Berkeley Lab) researchers have been named 2013 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

Berkeley Lab Scientist Named MacArthur “Genius” Fellow for Audio Preservation Research

A Berkeley Lab physicist who developed a way to digitally restore old audio recordings that are too fragile to play was named a MacArthur “genius” Fellow today (Wednesday, Sept. 25). Carl Haber, a senior scientist in the Physics Division, is among 24 recipients to receive the prestigious award – $625,000 in unrestricted funds over the next five years – by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.

Berkeley Lab Announces Director’s Awards: Physicist, Big Data Expert Recognized for Lifetime Achievement

The recipients of the Berkeley Lab Director’s Lifetime and Exceptional Achievement Awards have been announced. David Nygren (Physics) and Arie Shoshani (Computational Research) are the recipients of the Berkeley Lab Prize Lifetime Achievement Award. Lifetime Achievement Award winners David Nygren (left) and Arie Shoshani. Nygren was honored for his distinguished development of instrumentation in particle

Five Berkeley Lab Researchers Receive DOE Early Career Awards

Five Berkeley Lab researchers were on a list of 61 winners announced this week as recipients of the fourth Early Career Research Program managed by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science. They include Aydin Buluç, Felix Fischer, Daniel Haxton, Alexander Hexemer, Dominique Loque, Gabriel Orebi Gann, and George Pau.