News Center

Two Berkeley Lab Researchers Elected to National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences announced the election of two Berkeley Lab researchers to this year’s class of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries. They were elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Representing Berkeley Lab this year are James Berger from the Physical Biosciences Division and James Sethian from the Computational Research Division.

Four Berkeley Lab Researchers Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Four Berkeley Lab scientists have been elected to the 2013 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an honorary society founded in 1780 to recognize leading “thinkers and doers.” The new members affiliated with Berkeley Lab are Frances Hellman and Don Tilley of the Materials Sciences Division and Chemical Sciences Division respectively, Susan Marqusee of the Physical Biosciences Division, and Hitoshi Murayama of the Physics Division.

In Memoriam: George Gidal, Distinguished Physicist

George Gidal, an experimental particle physicist who was an important participant in many of the discoveries of the 20th century that gave us a nearly complete picture of fundamental interactions, died March 1 in Berkeley.

In the Field: Counting Trees in the Amazon Jungle

Jeff Chambers’ path to the Amazon forest started 20 years ago in an unlikely place: Livermore, California. Since then, he has bushwhacked through dense woodland, traveled hundreds of miles down jungle rivers, had close encounters with the world’s most painful ant and near misses with deadly snakes—all in the name of science.

President Obama Honors Berkeley Lab’s Art Rosenfeld as One of the Nation’s Top Technology Innovators

Berkeley Lab’s Distinguished Scientist Emeritus Art Rosenfeld has been awarded one of the nation’s top prizes for his contributions to the field of energy efficiency.

The announcement came Dec. 21 when President Barack Obama named Rosenfeld one of eleven extraordinary inventors as recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, one of the highest honors bestowed by the United States Government upon scientists, engineers, and inventors.

In Memoriam: Stuart Freedman, Renowned Nuclear Physicist

Stuart Jay Freedman, a physicist in Berkeley Lab’s Nuclear Science Division and professor of physics at the University of California at Berkeley, died November 9, 2012, at the age of 68. Freedman was a world-renowned investigator of fundamental physical laws whose many accomplishments include unique contributions to the study of neutrinos and the weak interaction.

Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water to Berkeley Lab’s Ashok Gadgil

A team led by Berkeley Lab’s Ashok Gadgil is the recipient of the 5th Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water. The prize recognizes his team for developing an innovative technology for affordable arsenic-safe drinking water in Bangladesh and nearby regions.

In Memory of Kenneth Crowe, 1926-2012

Kenneth Crowe, a widely traveled physicist and a demanding, inspirational teacher at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the University of California at Berkeley, died February 1, 2012, at the age of 85.

In memoriam, Clyde Taylor, 1930-2011

Clyde Taylor, pioneering scientist and engineer of superconducting magnet technology at Lawrence Livermore and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories, died November 16, 2011.

Berkeley Lab Energy Efficiency Expert Lee Schipper Dies

Leon (Lee) Schipper, a scientist who worked in the Environmental Energy Technologies Division for more than two decades, passed away on August 16 at Alta Bates Hospital in Berkeley. He was 64 and was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in May. Schipper was an energy efficiency expert who first worked at the Lab as a graduate student in 1972 and then joined as a scientist in 1978.